Poker Flat Recordings Best Of 2014
Artists :
Track List:
1 | Steve Bug - The Arpeggio
2014 | Produced by Steve Bug
2 | Mark Henning - Mad Half Hour
2014 | Produced by Mark Henning
3 | Carlos Sanchez - Conclution
2014 | Produced by Carlos Sanchez
4 | Vince Watson - Paradise
2014 | Produced by Vince Watson
5 | Mihai Popoviciu - Time
2014 | Produced by Mihai Popoviciu
6 | Marco Resmann - Basic Motion
2014 | Produced by Marco Resmann
7 | Alex Niggemann - Materium
2014 | Produced by Alex Niggemann
8 | Steve Bug - Glide
2014 | Produced by Steve BUg
9 | Vince Watson - Sonar
2014 | Produced by Vince Watson
10 | Alex Niggemann - Materium (Ripperton Remix)
2014 | Produced by Alex Niggemann | remixed by Ripperton

Poker Flat Recordings Best Of 2014 by Various Artists

  • pfrdd30
Release date

2014 has been a vintage year for Poker Flat. Now celebrating its 15th birthday, Steve Bug's label has lost none of its verve, devotion, depth and magic. Cherry-picked from an array of stellar underground releases, each track on this compilation epitomises the dark, minimal, technically accomplished house that has made Poker Flat a byword for quality.

Bug himself contributes two highlights - the brittle, hypnotic "Pelican Glide" and the skilfully layered "The Arpeggio", smouldering with latent menace - while Vince Watson is also represented by two outstanding tracks, the pulsing, bassy "Sonar" and "Paradise": a showcase in how to combine contrasting elements with its feather-light repetitions married to subaquatic bass. 

Elsewhere Mark Henning dishes up the deep, sinuous funk of "Mad Half Hour", Carlos Sanchez gives us the reverberating groove of "Conclution" and Mihai Popoviciu doffs his hat to early house for the deep jack of "Time". With Marco Resmann's "Basic Motion" and two versions of Alex Niggemann's "Materium" - the deep, unorthodoxly-structured original and Ripperton's expansive big room re-work - it's a collection that perfectly encapsulates a memorable year.